Revamping and Chalking

I’ve finally jumped into the distressed furniture, chalk paint, vintage repurposed furniture, DIY etc etc etc bandwagon. I’ve been following so many DIY boards and ideas on Pinterest and I thought; “it is time”. I am ready! I admit to have over a thousand pins of things I want to do and try and places to visit; but I never have the time or money or patience. This time I finally made the time, had the money for supplies and the help (my six year old) to get this project started and lots of PATIENCE. I bought a side table from a local furniture resale group on Facebook, then I headed to Home Depot for supplies. Here is what I got!

IMG_5230

IMG_5232IMG_5233

My supplies were about $25, Home Depot always has a section of discounted paint (mine is a rejected baby blue). I bought a green tint to achieve the tone I wanted for my side table. I reviewed so many recipes of chalk paint and I came up with my own quantity of plaster of paris to achieve the chalkiness I was comfortable with. Here is my favorite recipe for chalk paint and preparation step by step.

IMG_5234

Here is my little helping hand, check out those strokes! (insert lots of patience here)

IMG_5239

Baby wearing while chalk painting is very exhausting. And lets not forget preparation time, this table needed to be sanded, and treated with de-glosser before painting. I don’t recommend children around during this process, luckily I had my parents visiting and they entertained the children inside. THAT ONLY LASTED FOR ABOUT AN HOUR!

IMG_5242IMG_5267

And here is the finished product. The color is a Tiffany blue with dark bronze hardware.

What do you think? Share your comments below!


I am now on to my second project/flea market find, this is going to be my new door entry table. It looks a little hopeless, I got this for practically nothing but it needed to be rescued and rehabilitated. Stay tuned to see the final results, as soon as I get more time, money and patience 🙂

IMG_6463

I am a SAHM in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I am married to my high school sweety (although we went to different schools). I love to spend my days with my daughters exploring the outdoors, and when I am home I embark my creativity into cooking, baking and DIY projects (sewing, painting and distressing old furniture)

Posted in DIY

Leave a Reply

Sharing Moments

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

