The Big Latch On 2014

This was my first year participating in The Big Latch On 2014. It was a wonderful cool Saturday morning here in New Jersey, where all these wonderful moms came together to share that breastfeeding is a normal part of life. There were so many goodies for the families, and so many giveaways.  Approximately 300 people attended the event and according to the final count, 93 children were latched on during the “Latch count” minute (10:30-10:31 am). I don’t know if that is a record, but I am so grateful to have been a witness to so much love and bonding. Happy World Breastfeeding Week 2014 everyone!

Aims of the Big Latch On

  • Support for communities to identify and grow opportunities to provide ongoing breastfeeding support and promotion.
  • Raise awareness of breastfeeding support and knowledge available in communities.
  • Help communities positively support breastfeeding in public places.
  • Make breastfeeding a normal part of the day-to-day life at a local community level.
  • Increase support for women who breastfeed – women are supported by their partners, family and the breastfeeding knowledge that is embedded in their communities.
  • Communities have the resources to advocate for coordinated appropriate and accessible breastfeeding support services.

The Global BIG Latch On

IMG_5583

Screen Shot 2014-08-02 at 5.23.19 PM

IMG_5603

Thank you, La Leche League of Glassboro and Marlton and its volunteers for all their hard work.

I am a SAHM in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I am married to my high school sweety (although we went to different schools). I love to spend my days with my daughters exploring the outdoors, and when I am home I embark my creativity into cooking, baking and DIY projects (sewing, painting and distressing old furniture)

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Sharing Moments

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

