Second Chance Toys

These days the headlines are overwhelming us with stories of hatred, anger and violence; and they are so difficult to avoid. I recently removed a few news apps from my phone and unsubscribed from news reports, celebrity gossip pages that were showing up on my Facebook feed constantly. Facebook depression is real and reading all the negativity was bringing me down. But I am not here to dispirit you or to remind you of what is going on in the world. I am here to share what brings a smile to my face, Volunteering! –  last year my family and I volunteered for an organization called Second Chance Toys, and this year we did it again.

Second Chance Toys is a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation founded in 2006 to rescue and recycle plastic toys for children in need by donating them to community organizations. Because non biodegradable plastic is kept out of our landfills, Second Chance Toys is helping the environment at the same time.

SCT-Timeline-Web_thumb

Volunteering, really brings our family closer and we enjoy knowing that we are helping others, specially children. We registered as collectors for Second Chance Toys once again, and through word of mouth to friends and neighbors we gathered used toys (in excellent working condition) for children in need. This year we collected toys for BCAP – Burlington County Action Program – Headstart. We collected plush toys, blocks, dolls, baby toys, puzzles, books, musical instruments, doll houses, toy cars and more… My little elves helped me clean and sort everything, and my husband helped deliver the toys. Here are some pictures of our experience, and we are once again glad to have organize this collection.

I would love for this toy collection to grow. If you have a location, where we can get together and organize a toy collection for Second Chance Toys, please email me and we can talk out the details for the next Holiday Season. Happy Holidays!

I am a SAHM in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I am married to my high school sweety (although we went to different schools). I love to spend my days with my daughters exploring the outdoors, and when I am home I embark my creativity into cooking, baking and DIY projects (sewing, painting and distressing old furniture)

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Second Chance Toys
  1. Elvira says:

    I love the idea of giving any item a second chance. We live in a country of abundance & feel we need to SAVE Mother Earth & all of her children. It’s really nice to hear that people are still willing to help communities in need. And teaching our children the importance of helping especially children. I am currently doing an event for children as well. So far it’s been quite the adventure getting a community to help. And maybe next year we can team up to have Second Chance Donate some toys for the children in the program I am helping.

Leave a Reply

Sharing Moments

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

