Ava Anderson Skin – Review/Giveaway

10846450_10152910772125982_4891382369787674244_n

Ava Anderson Non-Toxic offers a varied selection of safe personal and home care products. If you visit the  Cosmetics Database you’ll notice that her products rate 0-2 on the toxicity scale. I was very excited to test her products, so I received the AVA SKIN line and their very popular diaper cream from AVA BABY. Due to sickness I had to wait a few days to try it; I didn’t realize how bad sinus OTC meds and breastfeeding a toddler were really taking a toll on my skin [insert surprised emoticon]. My skin is normally pretty dry so I was desperately hoping to trap in some moisture. Now my main concern with many beauty products are endocrine disruptors; but what sets this company apart are the ingredients they use in their products.

Ava
 The cosmetic industry and petrochemical companies have fought efforts in Congress to reform cosmetic industry regulations, which were first drawn up in 1938 and have remained virtually unchanged.

Cleanser: This cleanser has a really nice citrus smell and a gel like consistency. I really love the smell and the refreshed clean feeling. There are no suds in this cleanser, because these products are sulfate free and that is great! I don’t wear make-up, so I really don’t know how it removes make up residue, but I am sure you can use make-up removing pads first 😉

Ingredients: aloe barbadensis (organic aloe vera) extract, rosa damascena (organic rose) flower extract, cucumis sativus (organic cucumber) extract, coco glucoside, arctostaphylos uva-ursi (organic bearberry) leaf extract, raphanus sativus (radish root) extract, xanthan gum, citrus sinensis (organic sweet orange essential) oil, vitrus medica limonum (organic lemon essential) oil, citrus paradisi (organic pink grapefruit) essential oil

Exfoliator: The exfoliator also has a very pleasant smell, and a rich grainy consistency. It didn’t feel like I was scraping my face, it was gentle yet strong enough to buff away dry skin.

Ingredients: Yucca Root Extract helps replenish moisture and smoothness of skin, and also has mild cleansing properties and anti-inflammatory benefits. Punica Granatum Seed Oil is derived from pomegranate, providing a potent natural anti-oxidant. Shea Butter provides beneficial effects of anti-irritancy, anti-inflammatory and enhanced UV-B protection. Scrub leaves skin moisturized, protected, fresh and radiant. Ingredients: barbadensis leaf juice (organic aloe), yucca glauca root extract (organic yucca), glyceryl stearate, prunus armeniaca (organic apricot) seed powder, butyrospermum parkii (organic shea butter), carthamus tinctorious (organic safflower) oleosome, citrus aurantium dulcis (organic orange) peel oil, punica granatum (organic pomegranate) seed oil, sucrose stearate, aspalathus linearis (organic rooibos) leaf extract, azadirachta indica (organic neem) seed extract, xantham gum

Toner: Unlike other toners that are alcohol based, this one is non-drying and non stinging with is moisturizing ingredients like witch hazel and yucca. This toner is probably my favorite product from this whole line. I really enjoy spraying it on my face for instant freshness.

Ingredients: Yucca is a natural non-toxic antiseptic and witch hazel works to open pores to remove impurities. Ingredients: water, hamamelis virginiana (organic witch hazel) yucca glauca root extract(organic yucca), citrus aurantium amara (organic bitter orange) flower water, lonicera japonica flower extract (japanese honeysuckle)

Moisturizer: The moisturizer was also very rich and thick, it wasn’t runny like other moisturizers. This was something I definitely needed for my dry skin. It was absorbed very quickly and there is no sticky feeling. I applied it immediately after the toner to trap in the moisture.

Ingredients: aloe barbadensis (organic aloe leaf) extract, rosa damscena (organic rose) flower extract, olea europaea (olive wax), oryza sativa (organic rice bran) oil, helianthus annuus (organic sunflower) seed oil, camellia sinensis (organic green leaf tea) extract, royal jelly extract, persea gratissima (organic avocado) oil, raphanus sativus (radish root) extract, medica limonum (organic lemon) essential oil, citrus sinensis (organic sweet orange) essential oil, citrus paradisi (organic pink grapefruit) essential oil

Anti-Aging Night Serum: I was very happy to have received this serum and all I can say is that this is my first (or second) most favorite product. I can’t decide!

Ingredients: limnanthes alba (organic meadowfoam seed) oil, radix daucus carota (organic helio carrot root) oil, rosa rubginosa (organic rose hip seed) oil, hippophae rhamnoides (organic sea buckthorn) oil, ubliquinone (COQ10), citrus paradise (organic pink grapefruit) oil

Lip Balm: I also received the spearmint flavor lip balm and I thought they were perfectly scented for this time of the year.

Ingredients: butyrosepermum parkii (organic shea butter), cocos nucifera (organic coconut oil), organic beeswax, helianthus annuuss (organic sunflower seed oil), prunus amygdalus dulcis (organic sweet almond oil), menthe viridis (organic spearmint leaf oil).

Diaper Cream: This diaper cream its not just for your baby’s bottom. This diaper cream is a GREAT moisturizer, and I absolutely love it. I’ve been using it for a couple of nights as a hand cream, and I am very pleased. It is also good for eczema and dry patches, and it smells really good.

Ingredients: chamomilla recutita (organic chamomile) flower extract, aloe barbadensis (organic aloe vera) juice extract, olea europaea (organic olive) oil, butyrospermum parkii (organic shea) butter, cocos nucifera (organic coconut) oil, persea gratissima (organic avocado seed) oil, raphanus sativus (radish root extract), zinc oxide (non nanoparticle), calendula officinalis (organic calendula) flower extract, vanilla planifolia bean extract, citrus sinensis (organic sweet orange) essential oil.

I really enjoyed testing each one of these products. They are rich in anti-oxidants and vitamins, they contain no parabens, no triclosan, no synthetics fragrances or dyes and there are no harmful chemicals for humans or the environment and they are not tested on animals. Knowing all this made me feel good about testing them, promoting them to you and offering them as a giveaway.

You can shop all Ava’s products at www.avaandersonnontoxic.comnot-animal-tested1

To win the products reviewed on this post. You must leave a comment below, and for more entries visit my Facebook page.

Disclosure: Review samples were provided by the Ava Anderson Non-Toxic

I am a SAHM in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I am married to my high school sweety (although we went to different schools). I love to spend my days with my daughters exploring the outdoors, and when I am home I embark my creativity into cooking, baking and DIY projects (sewing, painting and distressing old furniture)

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
6 comments on “Ava Anderson Skin – Review/Giveaway
  1. I have dry skin for the most part. My face gets a little oily at times. I would love to try this stuff.

  2. ikkinlala says:

    I love to see options without synthetic fragrances!

  3. Joan Kubes says:

    I like that these have no synthetic fragrances or dyes and there are no harmful chemicals. I have very sensitive skin and wll get a rash from some chemicals.

  4. Patricia Alzate-Ocampo says:

    I would like to try these products because they contain no synthetics fragrances or dyes, there are no harmful chemicals for myself and my family or the environment and this is perfect for me because I have a very sensitive skin.

  5. Joan Kubes says:

    I have normal skin but during the winter it tends to get dry.

  6. manda says:

    I have an oily t-zone, depending on the time of year

Leave a Reply

Sharing Moments

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

