My New Years Resolution


My new year resolution was not a diet or an exercise program. I know lame!

My new year resolution was to work on crafts and do more diy projects around my house. I’ve been away for a while because I’ve been busy crafting. I wanted to share some of my projects through pictures and I hope you are inspired. I started my year with painting a vintage gold frame to a brown color. The vintage style is nice but I can’t too much of the gold tones. I really love the painting but the gold was bringing out more gold tones out of the picture and it was hurting my eyes. Once I painted the frame, if muted those tones, and I think it looks good. What do you think? I used a nickel bronze over the gold.

I also repurposed some Goodwill finds with free printables I found on Pinterest, and now every month I will be changing my prints with the monthly theme. My Valentines prints are not very color festive but I really like the clean design of the chalkboard back ground in the print.

IMG_8300

IMG_9485

Talking about chalkboard, I wanted to show off my favorite project…

I decided to create a chalkboard wall/door. I was undecided but we chose the door to the laundry room, and I think it came out pretty good. Here are the pictures 🙂

FullSizeRender

In case you couldn’t tell, this is the before picture 😉

IMG_9061

Now, how do I tell the toddler to only chalk on the door NOT the wall : /

FullSizeRender

And here it is, my chalkboard door!

And then I thought this chalkboard door is to blah! It needed something extra and I went back to the craft store and found these wooden frames. I taped them to the wall for placement purposes, and once I decided that I liked the idea I painted them with grey chalkboard paint and attached them to the door with nail glue. Voila!

FullSizeRenderIMG_9484

This was fun!

I am a SAHM in the suburbs of Philadelphia. I am married to my high school sweety (although we went to different schools). I love to spend my days with my daughters exploring the outdoors, and when I am home I embark my creativity into cooking, baking and DIY projects (sewing, painting and distressing old furniture)

Tagged with: ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Sharing Moments

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

